I talked to 2 of the girls from my school on Sunday after school about some of the things that have been a struggle since we've been here. It was good to have a moment of honesty and talk about things that God has taught us and how He brought us here. It's been difficult for me to connect with them. But that helped a little I think.
Rachel, the other girl from Cedarville and the only one I've really connected with, and I talked about our desires for our time here on Wednesday. We both talked about our struggles getting to know the others in our school and how we wanted to get to know more Spaniards and get involved in the culture. We also were both at camps this past summer, so the struggle of transitioning to another country from that environment is one that we can share.
Rachel has a pen pal that she had been writing for several years who goes to school here in Valencia. They met when she got here and he invited her and whoever else she wanted to come to a "party" with him and some of his friends. So her and I went and hung out with them Thursday night. It was a blast. Most of them spoke a small amount of English so we were able to communicate pretty well. Except most of them assumed that when I didn't understand something the first time (because they talked to fast or I couldn't hear them) that I didn't know Spanish and they needed to translate. So that was a little frustrating. But over all it was fun to make friends.
Cultural discoveries: It's very normal here to hang out in the streets outside of clubs or bars or at the beach super late at night. They buy their own alcohol from stores (because drinking age is 18) and then just hang out and drink until it's gone. Then they'll go into the clubs or where ever. Many students will go go out around midnight and come back at 6 or 7 in the morning. One professor told us that his daughter (16) would go out and not get back until 6 but that he felt better letting her stay out until her friends were done and they could leave together rather than giving her a curfew and her having to get home by herself. That's the culture here. It's so intriguing. My window is open most nights because there's no air conditioning, and the weekends there are often people yelling and being obnoxious outside. So that's fun.
Amigo discoveries: I like Spanish people more than the Americans I know here. When I'm with my family here or with Spanish friends they are almost alway very patient with me, willing to repeat and wait while I try to figure out ways to say what I'm thinking. The others from my school act like I'm stupid when I don't get things the first time. That drives me crazy. I know I shouldn't care what they think of me. But it does not make me keen to hang out with them. So I've decided I will hang out with them as little as possible outside of school and do what I can to make more friends who speak Spanish. That's the best thing I can do to learn the language anyway. As little English as possible. Which means no Americans.
Today has been a blast. I went to the beach with my sisters (I've decided to just refer to them as my family because it's easier), and we had so much fun. They're hilarious. Quirky, as we all are. Monica informed me that she doesn't believe in God. So that's a prayer request if you think about it.
And that's all I've got for now :)
No comments:
Post a Comment