Monday, September 28, 2015

Week 4: Familia

Every time I write I feel like it's been so long since I've written last. So much happens here.

I've had many many classes since I last wrote. I'm getting to the point where it's more of a struggle to want to go to them just because I'm so incredibly exhausted from all the translation. Fortunately (unfortunately?) class attendance is "obligatory" so there's no deciding if I should go or not. But the teachers are fun and each have their own special personalities so it's not the worst thing ever ;P Also they want us to be practicing our Spanish so they ask how are weekends are and get us talking about different things. It's nice because they most of them don't have a specific curriculum to get through so  they don't rush through things and if we end up talking about my weekend in Barcelona and the political structure of Spain and Cataluña for 40 of our 60 minutes in class, it's okay (yes that happened today).
Mom and Dad have been here since Tuesday. So, much of this past week has been showing them around. I got to show them the beach and the city center and the Ciudad de las Artes y Ciencias. It's been a fun experience trying to maneuver around this city. I've never driven it, so I've been very little help. But it made me realize how much more Spanish I've learned since I've been here. It doesn't feel like it sometimes because it's a day a time. But I know enough to get us around and to express most of what I'm trying to say when people are patient with me. So that's encouraging.
Then this weekend we went to Barcelona. Oh my. We got there and the only thing in my head was "I'm so fancy". The city felt very English European to me. I've never been to England. But because of the huge amounts of tourists that go there, there was English all around. At most restaurants the servers spoke English (only a little disappointed) and the tours we went on were in English as well.
We went on a walking tour when we first got there with the guy, Reuben from the UK. He was hilarious. I couldn't handle it. I laughed so much more than anyone else (go figure) which I'll never understand. Why don't people just laugh when things are funny?! Anyway, it was super interesting AND exciting for me to hear in English and see in person some of the things that I've been learning about in History.
We also visited the Sagrada Familia and Park Güell which we were there. Both were absolutely beautiful and packed with tourists. Everything in me rebels at the idea of being a tourist. I just want to learn the people and places and cultures. BUT when you only have 2 days, what can you do? It was fun to see everything.
My gosh have I fallen in love with Europe. Wow. I freaking love it here. If I could take all the people I love and miss and bring them here with me, by golly, I would never leave.
We went to Hillsong Barcelona Sunday morning! It was so good! Ugh! Matt Olthoff spoke in English and another guy translated into Spanish which was helpful for my Spanish because I was able to see how he translated specific phrases. Both of them were so passionate and he/they spoke about dreams, which gets me every time. Matt talked about how he was pastoring a mega church in California when he felt God calling him to more. He talked about how Moses held his staff, which represented all that he was (livelihood, protection, provision), in his hand and all it was was a dead piece of wood. But when he let go of that and set it down when God told him to, it became a living, breathing thing. I was so fired up. So good. I can't wait to see what happens when God breathes life into my dreams. I guess I'm seeing it now, being in Spain. The world is at my fingertips.

Tonight Mom and Dad came over for dinner with my host family. My heart is so full. I learned so much about my host family that I didn't know before. And I talked more to them than I have all together before. Usually I talk with Begoña (mom) and sometimes Sofia and Monica, but not usually the guys. And not all together. I love them all so much. It was so fun to have them all together and to be able to translate for them when they wouldn't know how to say things in English. It's nerve wracking to translate from Spanish to English when they understand a little of it because I'm rarely 100% on my understanding of what they're saying and I don't want to get it wrong. But it was good.
I'm so incredibly blessed to live with this family and to have this opportunity.




Saturday, September 19, 2015

Week 3: Culture + Amigos

It's been a good week. There have been many hard days and many low points. But it's been good. 
I talked to 2 of the girls from my school on Sunday after school about some of the things that have been a struggle since we've been here. It was good to have a moment of honesty and talk about things that God has taught us and how He brought us here. It's been difficult for me to connect with them. But that helped a little I think. 
Rachel, the other girl from Cedarville and the only one I've really connected with, and I talked about our desires for our time here on Wednesday. We both talked about our struggles getting to know the others in our school and how we wanted to get to know more Spaniards and get involved in the culture. We also were both at camps this past summer, so the struggle of transitioning to another country from that environment is one that we can share. 
Rachel has a pen pal that she had been writing for several years who goes to school here in Valencia. They met when she got here and he invited her and whoever else she wanted to come to a "party" with him and some of his friends. So her and I went and hung out with them Thursday night. It was a blast. Most of them spoke a small amount of English so we were able to communicate pretty well. Except most of them assumed that when I didn't understand something the first time (because they talked to fast or I couldn't hear them) that I didn't know Spanish and they needed to translate. So that was a little frustrating. But over all it was fun to make friends. 
Cultural discoveries: It's very normal here to hang out in the streets outside of clubs or bars or at the beach super late at night. They buy their own alcohol from stores (because drinking age is 18) and then just hang out and drink until it's gone. Then they'll go into the clubs or where ever. Many students will go go out around midnight and come back at 6 or 7 in the morning. One professor told us that his daughter (16) would go out and not get back until 6 but that he felt better letting her stay out until her friends were done and they could leave together rather than giving her a curfew and her having to get home by herself. That's the culture here. It's so intriguing. My window is open most nights because there's no air conditioning, and the weekends there are often people yelling and being obnoxious outside. So that's fun. 
Amigo discoveries: I like Spanish people more than the Americans I know here. When I'm with my family here or with Spanish friends they are almost alway very patient with me, willing to repeat and wait while I try to figure out ways to say what I'm thinking. The others from my school act like I'm stupid when I don't get things the first time. That drives me crazy. I know I shouldn't care what they think of me. But it does not make me keen to hang out with them. So I've decided I will hang out with them as little as possible outside of school and do what I can to make more friends who speak Spanish. That's the best thing I can do to learn the language anyway. As little English as possible. Which means no Americans. 
Today has been a blast. I went to the beach with my sisters (I've decided to just refer to them as my family because it's easier), and we had so much fun. They're hilarious. Quirky, as we all are. Monica informed me that she doesn't believe in God. So that's a prayer request if you think about it. 
And that's all I've got for now :) 

Monday, September 14, 2015

Week 2

What a week!
I'm learning so much and every day of learning is fun. Mostly.
I love making progress. So as long as I can feel myself improving I feel as though I'm walking on air. It's days like yesterday, when I talk to very few people, and I give myself a break that I tend to wallow. And I get discouraged.
It's so incredibly difficult some days to put myself out there repeatedly to try and meet more people. Some days I want nothing more than to lay in bed and watch movies or read a book and talk to no one. But I'm not here to talk to no one. Silly Megan. Get out of bed.

The good thing is that God is awesome [duh]
I was so encouraged yesterday to read my favorite Psalm in my new Spanish Bible. It took a little while because I had to look up words I didn't know. But I just get so freaking excited when I think about how God is a God who speaks every language, who can communicate with all because He created all AND He is sovereign over all! Hello, Megan. Stop feeling like you're all alone, because your Best Friend is closer than air always. 
Also Spanish worship music is the BOMB.

My classes are great. I really love them. General translation is difficult to have first thing in the morning because my translations are not usually right.. or the most right option. So Carlos (so quirky) tells me I'm wrong a lot. And I don't really enjoy that. But I do enjoy learning. And you only learn by trying. And History of Spain. Yikes. In order to get anything from that class, I have to translate my notes when I get home. I didn't learn ANY of those words in Spanish class.

And church. I went again this last night. OH! Funny Story: They had on their website "Noche de Equipo" = Team Night. And I thought, Great! Team night. Maybe a smaller group of people, maybe small groups? Maybe the core group? So I went. I walked in the door and said "Hey this is team night right? [yup] What is team night?" "oh it's a night for our volunteers" "... oh...*contemplates walking home*" "But you're totally welcome to stay! There will probably be other new people too!"
So I stayed. And it ended up being great I talked to lots of people that I had met the week before, some briefly, some longer. It ended up being great. It was just funny because it was not at all what I'd expected. Also, Spaniards do the whole double kiss thing to greet each other. So one guy came up to me "hola!" *Kiss kiss* "Como te llamas?" (What's your name?) *Me: DYING (from mostly awkward laughter) inside* I'm So not used to that.

But I've met many people who are helping me with my Spanish which is great/annoying/needed.
LOL.

Life. It's good, folks. It's good. It's hard, but it's good.

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Opportunities Abound!

Oh my. Sometimes I'm so overwhelmed at the life I get to live. Why would a God so big and so perfect and so everything ever want someone so insignificant as me? There is absolutely no logical reasoning. He is too good to me.

Today was so good. I met Lorena and Erick at church on Sunday. Today I met them across the city for lunch. Geeky diversity moment here: Erick is from Bolivia, now Spain and speaks Spanish (and English), Lorena is from Switzerland and speaks German (also Spanish, French, and English), and I of course am from the states and speak English. HOW COOL! I LOVE DIVERSITY! And in that time we were together we were able to share some of our stories and teach each other and encourage each other in our attempts at the others language. We all had something to give, as though we were created in this way to fill each others weaknesses ;)
I just kept thinking the whole time "It is a good thing to have friends."

Then tonight at dinner, I ate with my host parents only --the kids were not there. And so I was able to talk more with them than usual. Begoña told me that she was reading the website of the church I went to on Sunday and wondered what the difference was between that and the Catholic church.
Internal Megan: WHAT?!
I floundered a bunch with my attempt to explain it to them in Spanish. But I invited them to come with me sometime and she said she would.
Regardless of what happened in that moment, my heart is amazed because:
1) I get to live with them for 2 1/2 more months! And in that time I will be continuously getting better at Spanish and better able to communicate.
2) They were so open. She genuinely wanted to know and was interested in the answer.
3) I'm in freaking Spain and getting the chance to witness to a family through my life AND my words! God is so good.

I'm struck to day by my inabilities to do all that I wish I could, and at the same time by God's unending faithfulness in giving me chances to grow and using me in spite of myself. He doesn't need me to be perfect. He needs me to follow.
So I will follow, like clay in Your hands, moving only as you move me.



Monday, September 7, 2015

The Church-- I've never been more grateful

Sunday I spent the day in bed. I worked on homework and tried to refresh myself on the ridiculous number of past tense verbs. I was nervous about going to a Spanish church. I was excited because HOW COOL! But I was nervous because it was my first time and I didn't know what to expect.

I met two girls from my school there and we stood awkwardly outside (there were a bunch of people congregated on the sidewalk) for about 10 seconds before someone came over and asked if we were Americans (I will consider it a success when people don't immediately know that from looking at me). The girl, Kate was her name, talked to us for a bit introduced us to a girl from Switzerland, Llorena, and welcomed us inside. When we sat down, the pastor's wife introduced herself and said we could talk later.
We sang a bunch of Hillsong songs in Spanish and then sat through the service. I caught that it was about Jacob and Esau and that's about it. There were two salvations!! WOOHOO!
Afterwards the girls I came with and Llorena talked a bit and then the other girls left and Llorena and I decided to go out to dinner. We admitted that we'd both been hoping that people from the church would go out after so we hung back... and good thing too! About 20 people from the church all went to a restaurant just a few minutes away and I met so many people.
There's something to say about Christ followers that truly follow Christ. Everyone I've met here have been kind. But never (in the last week) did I feel so welcome as in that group of people who continuously engaged me in conversation and patiently waited while I stumbled through my attempts at Spanish.
I will go back, not because the message was amazing (I barely understood it) and not because the music was great (although it was) but because the body of Christ reached out their hands and welcomed me into a family when I had none.
What a truly beautiful reminder to us all. Who are you reaching out to?

In other news, I still don't speak much Spanish but I understand and attempt to speak more every day.
I'm finding Spanish movies online and listening to Spanish playlists.
I feel like I regress every time I speak and read and whatever in English. So I'm trying to do that as little as possible (aside from this blog ;) )
Classes are long but good.. well the classes aren't long but the days are. Monday through Thursday look like this
9-10                     Class
10:10-11:10         Class
11:11-12:29         Homework? Explore?
12:30-1:30           Class
2:30                     Lunch
3:15- 6                 Homework? Siesta
6:30-7:30             Class
7:45- 8:45            Class
9:00                     Dinner
10- ?                    Kill time until tired enough to sleep :)


Oh also my roommate moved out today because her program doesn't want her living with someone from another program. Whoops. :/

Saturday, September 5, 2015

Weekend Shenanigans

Yesterday,  I woke up and went running. Running is good because it's practice doing things I don't want to do. The problem is my self control right now is muy bajo. So it didn't really go well. But hey I still ran right?
I went to the river, which is really a park. Well it used to be a river and they turned it into a park that splits the city virtually in half. It has a 10 k path from one end of the park to the other. New goal? Maybe. It'll be harder without my running buddies :(
Anyway I had my first real freak out moment in which I got super lonely and kind of mad that I was here and didn't know anyone or have anyone to talk to. It was bound to happen sooner or later. I walked around the city later that day with the two others that are here from Cedarville, Aaron and Rachel, and that helped. Although we never really ended up anywhere. We tried to get to a few places and never found them because everyone sucks at directions and maps and I never trusted my gut. Plus there's something kind of exhilarating about being lost. Call me crazy.
4 hours of being lost was a little much for my legs though. It was hard to move the rest of the night.

I tried to ask my host parents how the food was a a restaurante that I'd passed and they thought I was asking for permission and semi scolded me about how they're here to help and I can do whatever I want I just need to let them know if I'll be here for meals. Which is great. But I'm looking forward to the day that I can communicate without being misunderstood.

Today we went to la peñíscola which as a BEAUTIFUL peninsula with a castle and beaches! :D I got burnt. (The sun is hotter here). But it was a really good day. And I made a friend! YAY!

Super excited for church tomorrow!

Thursday, September 3, 2015

Arrival!

I arrived in Valencia two days ago now. It feels like so much longer. Wow.
I'm living with a host family of two parents and three kids (Guillermo 17; Monica 15; Sofia 12). And we are a short bus away from the downtown and a 10 minute walk from my school. I also have a roommate who is going to la Universidad de Valencia. Her name is Karina and she is wonderful.

I totally botched my first meet with the family and pretty much every conversation since. I understand the jist of what people are saying to me. But when they ask specific questions I freeze or I just don't understand enough to answer correctly. They've learned to slow down so that each word is separated and I can nod or shake my head whether I know it or not. It's an adventure.

Yesterday we had orientation and went on a bus tour of Valencia. I thought at one point "I hate traveling. I'm never doing this again." But that has not been the overall impression (sorry mom and dad ;)) This city is beautiful. But also smelly at times. And there are lots of smelly people here. Body odor is unfortunately not uncommon. My nose is not my friend.

I also went exploring with Karina and one of her friends from school. Karina is super independent and adventurous, so I enjoy tagging along with her and she enjoys (or at least tolerates) my questions like how do I use an ATM and silly things like that.

My school has a total of 5 students. 3 professors. So the classes are tiny. I have three in the morning and 2 in the evening every day Monday through Thursday. They are wonderful... at least so far. We started today. It's nice to have such small classes because the professors really care about whether or not we understand and so when I make a face like I don't get it they ask and then repeat. So all that to say they all know what level I'm at with Spanish... I'm going for most improved by the end of the semester.

So that's what's happened thus far; Emotionally, things are good. I got great sleep last night. I love my host family. I'm enjoying getting to know the city. It feels like it's going to be forever until I go home so I try not to think about that too much. Every day is just so long. But it's not forever. And I'm going to enjoy every second I have here.

I'm excited to go to church on Sunday and hopefully meet some people who love Jesus. I miss talking about Him with people who get it.

Some interesting things I've noticed (and/or read online) so far:
-Spanish people don't make eye contact in passing
-Lunch is around 2, dinner around 9
-Families eat lunch together- and work/school schedules are created with this in mind.
-People love to look nice (which is great because I don't really own nice clothes-- hello new wardrobe)
-It's smelly
-Bikers are intense, also men are vocal ("muy guapa" .. oh...uh... you too?)

That's it for now.
Thanks for reading. See you soon!